To My Golden People

To the people in my life who have stood by me. The people who have supported me. Who have had patience with me.

Thank you. Thank you for being my golden people.

Some of you probably call me friend. Some of you call me family. I hope you know that to me, you all are family and that family is so much more than blood.

You’ve stood by my side while I’ve figured life out. Especially in the last year and a bit while I’ve learned about MS and figured that out. You’ve shown patience with me, especially when I haven’t had patience with myself. You’ve been my rock to lean on and to bounce back from. And words will never be able to adequately express the gratitude I have for all of you. I won’t name you all here. But I think of you often, even if I don’t reach out like I should. I hope you know that I will be there for you too. That no matter what life brings to your front door that I’ll be there to help you through it, just as you all have been there for me. Time and distance will never diminish what you mean to me.

You have kept a smile on my face. Reminded me that even on the worst days there is a reason to smile – even if that reason is just because my smile might be the only good thing for someone else’s day. It’s the texts asking me how I am or saying hi. The funny pictures and memes. The random questions and deep conversations. It’s knowing that there may be nothing you can do and asking anyways.

It’s the concerts and movies. Invitations to dinner – whether a home cooked meal or a fast food joint. It’s the reminder that every day brings a new and fresh start. That setbacks are just that, a setback, and not a wall I cannot get around or over or through. It has been the hugs. The tears. The acceptance of my bad days and making the most of my good days. It has been laughing at the little quirks that seem to come with MS and allowing me to see the humour in them as well.

It has been the silence. The power of just being there, even if words were never said. Of sharing a moment or two to just exist together and appreciate that life isn’t easy and sometimes I just want to scream at the world. It has been the moments where you help me realize that those moments of silence and frustration cannot last forever and my voice has a place in this world. That no matter how I am knocked down that I can get back up, and more importantly- that I will get back up. And then you help me. You offer a hand, an encouraging word, and understanding when it takes me time.

DSC08661-01

It has been the push to pursue what I love, especially when I didn’t see a point in it. The push for me to be better. To make more of myself today than yesterday and to always remember there is a tomorrow and today, no matter how bad, is not the end of the world.

It’s been the love of a 12 year old girl who I’ve only known for a few months – who upon learning I had MS began to save money for MS research. It is the tears that her act, and all the other acts that have been done on my behalf, have brought to my eyes as I realize time and time again that I am loved. That you see past my imperfections and shortcomings and still just love me for who I am. And that you refuse to let me forget who I am and who I can become.

You are my golden people. You are my rocks here in this life. The ones I know will be there for me. The ones that have taught me it is okay to ask for help. That we are not meant to endure this alone. And that you won’t leave me to do it on my own.

And while I don’t always believe that I deserve you, I don’t know where I would be without. Thank you.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

